Giving Myself

I grew tired of simply dreaming of you so I prayed you to life.
Met you in passing, you were more than I could imagine, but I couldn’t help but put up a fight.
As much as I desired you, I think i have an affinity for imperfection,
Seemingly, only attracted to unsavory characters disguised as gents.
I was doing things that lacked good sense.
Too afraid of my own shadow to let you in.
Mentally and emotionally scarred by the transgressions of previous men.
More than slightly affected by a bunch of shit I couldn’t dare charge you with,
I got caught in the crossfire many moons ago and my heart was hit.
Vowed though, that I wouldn’t die from it…
Today would be the day I broke that vow.
Only because the old me needed to die somehow.
In an attempt for me to accept you and get over a difficult past,
The hurt me had to leave and she had to go, fast.
So I was reborn with today’s hello…
Awakened by a voice just as powerful as it was mellow.
My fire was ignited by a touch smooth and strong like my favorite cognac,
Which made me wanna drink you.
Excited by your scent, so sweet it made me wanna breathe you.
Get wrapped up in your embraces and never, ever leave you.
Repeatedly pinch the both of us just so I could believe it was you,
I just need to make sure you’re really here…
I’m ready to conquer my fears.
To stop complaining about what I don’t have and take in what u have to give.
To not worry about what car you drive or where you decide to live,
But to cherish a exceptional MAN,
A standout amongst his peers.
I’m ready to live this new life,
As a friend, a partner, a lover brand new.
Loving you totally and unselfishly, I submit myself to you…

Leave a comment